The Commonwealth of Independent States
Anti-Terrorism Center

Head of CIS ATC meets with Director of UN Office of Counter-Terrorism in the CIS ATC headquarters

A working meeting of the Center's Head Andrey Novikov and Director of UN Office of Counter-Terrorism D-r Jehangir Khan was held in Moscow's CIS ATC headquarters on 27 April 2018. The issues of cooperation between the UN specialized agency and CIS ATC in combating terrorism were the main topics of discussion.

It has been particularly noted an interest in mutual participation of implementation of the projects aimed to ensure regional security in the Central Asian region. The parties have discussed topical threats posed by foreign terrorist-fighters amid their return and relocation from the conflict zones to other regions of the world, including the countries of their origin.

At the meeting the ways of further development of the organizations' cooperation in combating terrorism, including information sharing and facilitation of implementation of the security projects at the regional and global levels have been outlined as well. The parties have agreed to continue the dialogue on the margins of the forthcoming United Nations High-level Conference of Heads of Counter-Terrorism Agencies of Member States on "Strengthening international cooperation to combat the evolving threat of terrorism" to be held on 28-29 June this year in New-York, USA.

In its Global survey of the implementation of Security Council resolution 1624 (2005) by Member States the Counter-Terrorism Committee noted the CIS ATC's activity aimed to provide Member States with platforms for information-exchange, including on foreign terrorist fighters and organizations deemed to be terrorist or extremist.

This year the Center's activity was commended in the Sixth report of the Secretary-General on the threat posed by ISIL (Da’esh) to international peace and security (January 2018). It was specifically noted that "the Anti-Terrorism Centre of the Commonwealth of Independent States is also working to bring together the efforts of financial intelligence units and competent authorities in combating terrorism financing".

Антитеррористический центр государств-участников Содружества Независимых Государств

В штаб-квартире АТЦ СНГ прошла рабочая встреча Руководителя АТЦ СНГ с Директором Контртеррористического управления ООН

27 апреля 2018 года в Москве в штаб-квартире АТЦ СНГ прошла рабочая встреча руководителя Центра А. Новикова с Директором Контртеррористического управления ООН (КТУ ООН) д-ром Д. Ханом. Обсуждались вопросы сотрудничества специализированной структуры ООН и АТЦ СНГ в области борьбы с терроризмом.

В частности, отмечена заинтересованность во взаимном участии в реализации проектов по обеспечению региональной безопасности в Центрально-Азиатском регионе. Стороны обсудили актуальные угрозы, исходящие от деятельности иностранных боевиков-террористов в связи с их перемещением из зон боевых действий в другие регионы мира, в том числе в страны исхода.

В ходе встречи были намечены пути развития дальнейшего сотрудничества организаций в сфере борьбы с терроризмом, включая обмен информацией и содействие в реализации проектов в области безопасности на региональном и глобальном уровнях. Стороны договорились продолжить диалог в рамках предстоящей 28-29 июня т.г. конференции высокого уровня глав контртеррористических учреждений государств-членов ООН на тему «Укрепление международного сотрудничества в борьбе с нарастающей угрозой терроризма» (г. Нью-Йорк, США).

В 2016 году КТК СБ ООН в своем Глобальном обзоре осуществления Резолюции 1624 особо отметил деятельность АТЦ СНГ в части предоставления странам Содружества платформы для обмена информацией, в том числе об иностранных боевиках-террористах, а также террористических и экстремистских организациях.

В текущем году деятельность Центра также была отмечена в Шестом докладе Генерального секретаря ООН об угрозе, создаваемой ИГИЛ (ДАИШ) для международного мира и безопасности (январь 2018). В частности, оценку получила «работа АТЦ, направленная на объединение усилий подразделений финансовой разведки и компетентных органов в деле борьбы с финансированием терроризма».