The Commonwealth of Independent States
Anti-Terrorism Center

CIS ATC and UNOCT sign a Memorandum of Understanding

On 31 October 2018 the Head of the CIS Anti-Terrorism Center Andrey Novikov and Under-Secretary-General for Counter-Terrorism Vladimir Voronkov signed a Memorandum of Understanding between the United Nations represented by the Office of Counter-Terrorism (UNOCT) and Commonwealth of Independent States Anti-Terrorism Center (CIS ATC) in Tashkent, Republic of Uzbekistan.

In accordance with the MoU considering common interest of the organizations in strengthening co-operation in countering terrorism, desiring to facilitate the achievement of the objectives set out in in the UN Charter and relevant resolutions of the United Nations General Assembly and the United Nations Security Council, the principles and commitments of the Commonwealth of Independent States, the parties have outlined their commitment to ensure effective co-operation in the areas of common areas.

Within the framework of the document the parties will be able to launch joint projects and programs in the field of preventing and countering terrorism to promote the balanced implementation of the United Nations Global Counter-Terrorism Strategy, exchange information, convene joint activities and consultations in the field of preventing terrorism, countering terrorist financing, border security and management, countering the use of the internet for terrorist purposes, and ensuring critical infrastructure protection.

The MoU was signed on the sidelines of the Sixth International Conference of the Regional Anti-Terrorism Structure of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization on “Combating Terrorism: Cooperation without Borders” held in Uzbekistan on 31 October - 1 November.

Антитеррористический центр государств-участников Содружества Независимых Государств

В Ташкенте подписан Меморандум о взаимопонимании между ООН и АТЦ СНГ

31 октября 2018 года в г.Ташкенте (Республика Узбекистан) Руководителем Антитеррористического центра государств-участников СНГ Андреем Новиковым и Заместителем Генерального Секретаря Организации Объединенных Наций по вопросам борьбы с терроризмом Владимиром Воронковым подписан Меморандум о взаимопонимании между Организацией Объединенных Наций в лице ее контртеррористического управления (КТУ ООН) и Антитеррористическим центром государств-участников СНГ (АТЦ СНГ).

В соответствии с Меморандумом, принимая во внимание общие интересы организаций в области укрепления сотрудничества в борьбе с терроризмом, желая продвигать достижение целей, предусмотренных Уставом ООН и соответствующими резолюциями Генеральной Ассамблеи ООН и Совета Безопасности ООН, принципами и обязательствами Содружества Независимых Государств, стороны обозначили стремление обеспечивать эффективную координацию в областях, представляющих взаимный интерес.

В рамках документа стороны получат возможность инициировать совместные проекты и программы в области борьбы с терроризмом для поддержки сбалансированной имплементации Глобальной контртеррористической стратегии ООН, осуществлять обмен информацией, проводить совместные мероприятия и консультации в области предотвращения терроризма, борьбы с его финансированием, безопасности и управления границами, противодействия использования Интернета в террористических целях, а также обеспечения защиты критически важных объектов.

Подписание Меморандума состоялось на полях Шестой международной конференции Региональной антитеррористической структуры Шанхайской организации сотрудничества (РАТС ШОС) «Борьба с терроризмом - сотрудничество без границ", которая проходит в Узбекистане (31 октября - 01 ноября).